Beacon

Change or cancel a subscription in Stripe

Updated a month ago

If you'd like to cancel or change the amount on a subscription that's processed by Stripe, you'll need to change it directly from your Stripe account. Any changes that you make will then flow through into Beacon automatically.

help_outline If the subscription was created by a Beacon form, and the payment method is 'Card', you're in the right place! If the payment method is 'Direct debit' you can check out our GoCardless guide.

link Step-by-step guide:


link Changing subscription amount

Stripe is an amazing product, but it can sometimes be a little tricky to change the subscription. Let's break it down!

  1. Log in to your Stripe accountLog in to Stripe account
  2. In the sidebar, click on 'Customers' and then 'Subscriptions'Subscriptions in Stripe
  3. Click on the subscription you'd like to change in the list (you can also find the payer in 'Customers', and choose from their subscriptions)
  4. In the top right, click the 'Update subscription' buttonUpdate subscription button in Stripe
  5. Remove the old amount (called 'Remove product' in Stripe)Remove product in Stripe
  6. Click to 'Add product', and 'Add new product'
  7. Fill out the details for the new subscription. You can simply enter 'Donation' as the description, or be more specific - '£2 Monthly donation'Add new product Stripe
  8. Turn off 'Prorate changes' so that it only changes from the next charge, and click 'Update subscription'Update subscription Stripe

check_circle_outline Subscription changed! These changes will shortly update in Beacon too.


link Cancelling a subscription

Cancelling a subscription in Stripe is quite straightforward. Let's take a look at it step-by-step:

  1. Log in to your Stripe accountLog in to Stripe account
  2. In the sidebar, click on 'Customers' and then 'Subscriptions'Subscriptions in Stripe
  3. Click on the subscription you'd like to change in the list (you can also find the payer in 'Customers', and choose from their subscriptions)
  4. Click on the button next to 'Update subscription', and choose 'Cancel subscription'Cancel subscription Stripe
  5. Choose your options (usually leave as 'Immediately', and no refund), then click 'Cancel subscription'Confirm cancel subscription Stripe

check_circle_outline The subscription has been cancelled, and this person will no longer be charged! These changes will shortly flow through into Beacon automatically too.

close

Contact Us

It'd be great to hear from you! To reach out, fill in your details below and we'll get back to you.

close

Register for webinar

To join this webinar, please enter your details below and we'll send you details on how to join.



close