Beacon

Read-only licences

Updated 6 months ago

Read-only licences in Beacon let you give team members the ability to view the data in your database, but not change things.

Unlike regular licences, read-only licences are free.

You can assign team members to read-only licences on your Team Members page.

At Beacon we believe that getting data into the hands of more people in your organisation is a good thing. Read-only licences are perfect for those team members who just need to view your data, but don't need a paid-for licence yet.

For example, you might assign read-only licences to:

  • Your CEO - so she can access data before major donor meetings
  • Volunteers - to see registrations lists
  • One of your Trustees - to view some key charts
  • A colleague who might need full access in the future

In this article:


link What can read-only team members do?

Here's full list of all of the things a read-only team member can and can't do in Beacon:

link Individual records

Can:

  • View records

Cannot:

link Lists of records

Can:

Cannot:

link Charts

Can:

Cannot:

  • Create charts
  • Edit charts
  • Delete charts

link Forms

Can:

Cannot:

  • Create forms
  • Edit or delete forms

link Imports

Can:

Cannot:

  • Create import templates
  • Update or delete import templates
  • Run imports

link Exports

Can:

Cannot:

  • Create export templates
  • Update or delete export templates
  • Run exports

link Document templates

Can:

Cannot:

  • Create document templates
  • Update or delete document templates
  • Run document merges

link Email templates

Can:

Cannot:

  • Create email templates
  • Update or delete email templates
  • Send emails from Beacon

link Customising records

Cannot:

link Other areas

Other features in the database are off-limits to read-only users. This includes (but isn't limited to):


link How many read-only licences are we allowed?

Beacon has a limit on the number of read-only licences available, based on the number of standard licences you have.

You can have 10x the number of read-only licences as you have standard licences.

Let's say you were paying for 2 standard licences, and one-part time licence. The number of read-only users allowed would be the number of standard licences multiplied by 10: 2 x 10 = 20 read-only licences.


link How are read-only users different to roles & permissions?

The Roles & Permissions feature is a Premium feature giving you fine-grained control over who can access and edit what data in your database.

Read-only team members can be assigned to roles, but those roles will not give them the ability to edit anything (as they're read-only).

Let's say you want to give volunteers read-only access to your database. To keep things simple, you want to hide everything that's not relevant to them: charts, forms, certain people fields, and data on grants you're applying for. Read-only users will be able to see these by default, but you could use roles & permissisons to prevent this.


link How can we give edit access to one of our read-only users?

If a read-only team member needs to make changes in your database, then they're no longer read-only!

You will need to assign a paid licence to them.

📖 Related articles

close

Contact Us

It'd be great to hear from you! To reach out, fill in your details below and we'll get back to you.

close

Register for webinar

To join this webinar, please enter your details below and we'll send you details on how to join.



close